On Air

Legendary Nights

Final Three Set to STOH

By: Bruce Luebke
Posted: January 12, 2014 01:10

  The Provincial Women's Curling Champions will be crowned Sunday at Tundra Oil & Gas Place in Virden.  
  Kerri Einarson of East St. Paul remained undefeated for the week by making a double takeout with the final stone of the tenth end to score three and down Barb Spencer of Assiniboine-Memorial 6-4 in the 1-verus-1 playoff game Saturday night.  
  The victory gave Einarson a spot in the Scotties Tournament of Hearts final while Spencer dropped to the semifinal.  
  Meanwhile, Chelsea Carey of Fort Rouge picked up an 8-6 win over Janet Harvey of Assiniboine-Memoiral in the 2-versus-2 playoff game Saturday night to move into the semifinal.  
  Carey had to play an extra game to get to the playoffs, downing Darcy Robertson of Fort Rouge 7-3 in a tiebreaker to decide second-place in the Black Group.  
  Both Brandon teams at the event finished with wins in their final round-robin games, with Kelsey Russill downing Shannon Birchard 8-7 while Kortney Teale upended Dauphin's Lisa Menard 9-4.  
  Russill and Teale both finished with 4-and-3 record while Menard finished at 1-and-6.  
2014 Scotties Tournament of Hearts
(at Tundra Oil & Gas Place, Virden) Black Group Standings (Final)
Kerri Einarson (East St. Paul) -- 7-0
Chelsea Carey (Fort Rouge) -- 5-2
Darcy Robertson (Fort Rouge) -- 5-2
Kim Link (East St. Paul) -- 4-3
Quinn Sneisen (Fort Garry) -- 3-4
Kate Camerson (Balmoral) -- 2-5
Deb McCreanor (La Salle) -- 2-5
Patricia Evans (Flin Flon) -- 0-7 Red Group Standings (Final)
Barb Spencer (Assiniboine Memorial) -- 5-2
Janet Harvey (Assiniboine Memorial) -- 5-2
Michelle Montford (Assiniboine Memorial) -- 4-3
Joelle Brown (Fort Rouge) -- 4-3
Kortney Teale (Brandon) -- 4-3
Kelsey Russill (Brandon) -- 4-3
Shannon Birchard (Granite) -- 1-6
Lisa Menard (Dauphin) -- 1-6 8:30 a.m. Draw (Red Group)
Spencer 9 Harvey 6
Teale 9 Menard 4
Russill 8 Birchard 7
Brown 10 Montford 2 12:15 p.m. Draw (Black Group)
Einarson 7 Carey 3
Sneisen 9 Evans 5
Robertson 9 Cameron 6
Link 8 McCreanor 3 Tiebreaker
Carey 7 Robertson 3 1-vs-1 Playoff
Einarson 6 Spencer 4 2-vs-2 Playoff
Carey 8 Harvey 6

Back to News