On Air

Westman's incumbent Conservatives all re-elected

By: Q Country/Star FM News
Posted: September 21, 2021 03:18

Nationally, the Liberals will form a minority government

Image - Justin Trudeau - Carlos Osorio / Reuters

Westman's three incumbent Conservative politicians were all re-elected on Monday (Sept 20) - Candice Bergen, Dan Mazier and Larry Maguire.

Candice Bergen in Portage-Lisgar

Dan Mazier in Dauphin-Swan River-Neepawa

Larry Maguire in Brandon-Souris

Nationally, Justin Trudeau's Liberals claimed another minority government with 158 seats, the Conservatives garnered 119, the Bloc Quebecois 34, the New Democrats 25, Green Party 2 and none for the People's Party. Official numbers won't be available for several days. Elections Canada says nearly 1.3 million mail-in ballots were sent to voters this year, and 951,039 had been returned as of Monday morning. They say the counting process for mail-in ballots could take between two to five days.

In his victory speech in Montreal early Tuesday morning, Trudeau said the result suggests Canadians are "sending us back to work with a clear mandate to get Canada through this pandemic and to brighter days ahead."

The federal election campaign ran for 36 days and cost $600-million.

Back to News